Update Date:2020-04-04

April 4 2020 GMT+8:00

  • Source:Bureau of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Economic Affairs
  • Published Date:2011-11-14
  • Effective Date:2017-04-07

Post Date : 92-12-17
What is the WTO?  

The WTO is a rules-based, member-driven organization — all decisions are made by the member governments, and the rules are the outcome of negotiations among members. The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.


Organization chart
All WTO members may participate in all councils, committees, etc, except Appellate Body, Dispute Settlement panels, Textiles Monitoring Body, and plurilateral committees.
Ministerial conferences
The topmost decision-making body of the WTO is the Ministerial Conference, which has to meet at least every two years. It brings together all members of the WTO, all of which are countries or customs unions. The Ministerial Conference can take decisions on all matters under any of the multilateral trade agreements.

General Council
The General Council is the WTO’s highest-level decision-making body in Geneva, meeting regularly to carry out the functions of the WTO. It has representatives (usually ambassadors or equivalent) from all member governments and has the authority to act on behalf of the ministerial conference which only meets about every two years.
The General Council also meets, under different rules, as the Dispute Settlement Body and as the Trade Policy Review Body. 


The WTO Secretariat is organized into Divisions with functional, information and liaison and support roles. Divisions are headed by a Director who reports to a Deputy-Director General or directly to the Director General.

Functional divisions

Accessions Division

Agriculture and Commodities Division

Council Division

Development Division

Economic Research and Analysis Division

Intellectual Property and Investment Division

Legal Affairs Division

Market Access Division

Ministerial Sessions Division

Rules Division

Statistics Division

Secretariat Working Group on the Integrated Framework and LDC Issues

Technical Cooperation Division

Textiles Division

Trade and Environment Division

Trade and Finance Division

Trade in Services Division

Trade Policies Review Division

Training Division

Information and liaison divisions

Information and Media Relations Division

External Relations Division

Support divisions

Administration and General Services Division

Informatics Division

Language Services and Documentation Division

Send This Page To Your Friend.Send This Page To Your Friend.

Subject: The WTO
Content: Post Date : 92-12-17What is the WTO? The WTO is a rules-based, member-driven organization &mda...